Maid for It and KDP Select

When Amazon announced the KDP Select program in November of last year, I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to participate. I didn’t like a lot of the terms and conditions, especially the fact that the program precludes authors from posting excerpts on their websites. The fact that a book in Select can only be sold on Amazon was another problem for me; I just don’t like the idea of exclusivity.

However, I’ve decided to go ahead and take the plunge and put Maid for It in Select starting tomorrow. There are three reason I decided this is a worthwhile experiment:

  1. For the past few months, the only place Maid for It has sold a significant number of copies is Amazon. By taking it off other retailer sites, I’m not losing more than a handful of sales, at the most.
  2. As a new author, being in the Lending Library may give me the opportunity to find new readers who would otherwise not to take a chance on buying my book.
  3. I can make my five free days coincide with the release of Damaged Goods, which should be in early to mid April.

I’m also more than a little curious to see how the Select program works out. I’ve heard mixed results from other authors, but the only way to find out the truth about anything is to try it myself. So, that’s what I’m going to do!

About lucyrodgers

Lucy writes edgy erotica exploring themes from kidnapping and imprisonment to forced seduction and submission. If you're afraid of the dark, don't come in. View all posts by lucyrodgers

Comments are disabled.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

